Éric Goeury, Artisan

Passion at fingertips

Éric Goeury is a true enthusiast of panettones. In order to better understand the processes that guide the making of this hardest brioche to realised, he first deciphered several books on Sourdough and yeasts, often in Italian. Then, his path crossed that of the great chef Rolando Morandin and the daughter of Morandin, who shared their know-how and their family sourdough with him.

Eric make a traditional panettone that he bakes with the finest ingredients and according to the traditional three-paste recipe. Its approach also aims to highlight seasonal products. Thus, he makes panettones all year round with flavors such as: candied strawberries, candied wild blueberries, candied pumpkins, etc.

"As everything accelerates and becomes more and more ephemeral, for me, making an artisanal panettone is part of a rare and precious moment. A moment where time needed must be respected. To make an artisanal panettone a success, it is vital to follow the natural rhythm of the sourdough, the centerpiece of the creation process. After three days of baking prodecc, it this that will give the panettone its exquisite flavors.

The sourdough that I use in my panettones has been passed down to me by a long line of artisans and is now part of my family history.

Take the time to eat your panettone, its fllavors will evolve over the days and weeks. ''

Éric Goeury makes his panettones at the Co'Pains d'abord's store on Rachel Street in Montreal. At this address, he also offers various products made with care, including his famous pure butter croissants.

Éric Goeury, Artisan

La passion au bout des doigts

Éric Goeury est un vrai passionné des panettones artisanaux. Afin de mieux comprendre les processus qui guident la fabrication de cette brioche la plus difficile à réaliser, il a d'abord déchiffré plusieurs ouvrages sur le levain-mère et les levures. Ensuite, sa route a croisé celle du grand chef Rolando Morandin et sa fille, qui lui ont partagé leur savoir-faire et leur levain-mère. 

Éric propose un panettone traditionnel qu'il confectionne avec les meilleurs ingrédients et selon la recette traditionnelle trois pâtes. Sa démarche vise également à mettre en valeur les produits saisonniers. Ainsi, il fabrique des panettones toute l'année aux saveurs telles que : fraises confites, bleuets sauvages confits, érable, potimarrons confits, etc.

''Alors que tout s’accélère et devient de plus en plus éphémère, la confection d’un panettone artisanal s’inscrit pour moi dans un moment rare et précieux, celui du respect du temps nécessaire. Pour réussir un panettone artisanal, il est vital de suivre le rythme naturel du levain-mère, pièce-maitresse du processus de création. Au bout de trois jours de fabrication, c’est lui qui va conférer au panettone ses parfums exquis.

Le levain-mère que j’utilise dans la confection des panettones m’a été transmis par une longue lignée d’artisans et il fait désormais partie de mon patrimoine.

Prenez le temps pour déguster votre panettone, son goût évoluera au fil des jours et des semaines.''

Éric Goeury confectionne ses panettones à la boutique les Co'Pains d'abord sur la rue Rachel à Montréal. À cette adresse, il propose également différents produits fabriqués avec soins, dont ses fameux croissants pur beurre.